Congratulations! Again!

Applause, please, for Laura Antoniou, whose Marketplace anthology No Safewords has just won the Samois Anthology Award, given out by the National Leather Association! Hot on her heels — pun totally intended — we have Elizabeth Schechter with an honorable mention for House of Sable Locks. Congratulations are in order for two of our own brilliant and kinky Circlet Press authors.

Full press release below:

National Leather Association: International, a leading organization for activists in the pansexual SM/leather community, announced the winners for excellence in literary works in SM/leather/fetish writing published in 2013 at its Annual General Meeting in Dallas, TX September 26-28, 2014 and held during Beyond Vanilla. The judges received a greater number of nominations this year than ever before and judging in most categories was quite difficult with such exemplary pieces of writing.

With so many wonderful works coming in decisions were very difficult for the judges so there was a tie in the Non-Fiction Book category. Winners of the Geoff Mains Non-Fiction Book Award are John Huxley for “The Artisan’s Book of Fetishcraft: Patterns and Instructions for Creating Professional Fetishwear, Restraints and Sensory Equipment” (Greenery Press) and F.R.R. Mallory for “The Kinky Feminist” (self-published). Honorable mention in this category goes to Thom Magister for “Biker Bar: Bikes, Beer, and Boys – A Playful Look at the Roots of the Leather Bar” (Perfectbound Press)

In the John Preston Short Fiction category, the winner is Peter Masters for “Imperfect Journeys” (self-published). Honorable mention for short story goes to D. L. King for “Mr. Smith, Ms. Jones Will See You Now” from the anthology Ageless Erotica, ed. Joan Price.

Winner of the Samois Anthology Award is Laura Antoniou (ed.), “No Safewords” (Cleis Press). Honorable mention goes to Sassafras Lowrey (ed.), for “Leather Ever After: An Anthology of Kinky Fairy Tales” (Ravenous Publications)

Pauline Reage Novel category winner is Laura Antoniou for “The Killer Wore Leather” (Cleis Press). The judges had were unable to select only one runner up so there was a tie for Honorable Mention in this category. Honorable Mentions go to Chris Bellows for “The Blacksmith’s Daughter” (Pink Flamingo Publications) and to Elizabeth Schechter for “House of Sable Locks” (Circlet Press)

The winner of the Cynthia Slater Non-fiction Article Award is I.G. Frederick for “What Some Women Tops and Bottoms Have in Common” which appeared on October 12 in BDSM Book Reviews ( Honorable Mention in this category goes to Janet Hardy for “My Tantric “Awakening” Turned Me Off Sex” which appeared March 15 in Salon (

Nominations for literary works published in 2013 will open late this year. If you have any questions please direct them to the committee chair at

2 thoughts on “Congratulations! Again!”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *